Pixar Toybox Figures – Woody, Buzz & Jessie

As soon as I saw these figures on shopdisney.com, I was praying they would be released here in the UK and finally my prayers were answered and they were released here last week on the Disney Store UK website! The day they went on sale, I placed my order ASAP!

Pixar Toybox Figures

They are a new series of action figures of various well loved Disney characters that they are calling the “Toybox” range; and they are based on the same artwork that the Disney Infinity characters were made from. However, unlike the Disney Infinity figures which were static figures, these new figures in the Toybox range are really poseable, and bigger than the Infinity figures. So far they have released the Pixar series, which includes Woody, Buzz and Jessie; the Marvel series, which includes Thor, Hulk, Spiderman and Iron man; and the Star Wars series, which includes Rey, Kylo Ren, and a Stormtrooper.

Of course, I ordered Woody, Buzz and Jessie so they are the ones I will be showing you today; but I definitely want to get some of the others in the future too.

They come in window box style packaging attached to a backing card. The new Disney logo is at the top and it tells you which number figure they are in the series too (Buzz is 1, Woody is 2 and Jessie is 3). On one side of the box is the little Pixar word logo, and on the other side is artwork of the figure inside. On the back it shows you the other figures available in that particular series. Also, I didn’t show it in the photos but you can see it in my YouTube video (channel is LucysRoomToys), there is a leaflet inside the boxes that shows you the other figures available in each series.

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

I’ll start with showing you Woody first as he was the one I was most eager to see. Straight out the box, I was initially quite disappointed (as you’ll see in my YouTube video), because he can’t stand with both feet straight to the floor. However, since playing with him, I haven’t found that to be as irritating as I’d first thought as he generally looks better posed with a leg bent slightly like he is walking anyway. The range of movement in his arms is not brilliant, but its adequate; but his hat fits really well which is a real plus. The little details on him, like his sheriff badge and belt buckle; and pull string hoop on his back are really adorable too. He comes with a cowboy boot with a little spring snake figure inside it. There is a button on the side of the boot, and you can see a mechanism inside when you take the snake out, that seems to imply that the snake should spring out the boot (or at least pop up a bit) when you press the button. Sadly mine doesn’t work though and I have asked some friends that have the figure too, and they said theirs don’t work either; so it seems to be a common fault which is a shame. However, despite those issues, I still think he is a fantastic little figure and he is already a firm favourite in my collection.

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Jessie is a MUCH better poser than Woody and she can stand with both feet flat to the floor.Her arms and knees have a much better range of movement in them too. She comes with her lasso which she can hold really nicely in her hand without it falling out. Again, her hat fits really well too. The detailing on her is also lovely; she has the pull string hoop on her back too and I love her chaps.

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Buzz feels lovely when you take him out the box as he just feels nice and chunky and sturdy. He stands really well (feet flat) and has a decent range of movement in his arms and legs. His jet pack is detachable (pull it straight off, don’t try and slide it) and the wings can be folded up or down. He is my favourite for the detailing; they got all his buttons and laser lights really well but my favourite thing is when you take off his jet pack and it has the “batteries” and “play/demo” switch.

Pixar Toybox Figures Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Pixar Toybox Figures

Overall, I am really happy with them as figures. They are the best small action figures Disney have done of these three for a long time and a great (and affordable) alternative to the Revoltech figures from Japan. I love the artwork used to make them and all the little details are really cute and impressive. Its a shame about the few issues I mentioned with Woody, but I would still recommend him and I have had a lot of fun posing them and taking photos already. Check out my YouTube video about them on my channel, LucysRoomToys; and keep an eye on my Instagram account as always for more pictures of them in the future.

Pixar Toybox Figures

Leave a comment